It is currently: May 12, '24, 5:59 pm

The 40 WORST Billboard Hot 100 #1 Songs

Talk about your favorite music, bands, artists, music videos and more!

The 40 WORST Billboard Hot 100 #1 Songs

Postby Ali » Nov 03, '13, 5:46 pm

1,030. That is how many individual songs have hit the number one spot on Billboard's Hot 100 since it's inception on August 4, 1958. And because I have nothing better to do, I have listened to every single one of them. From Ricky Nelson to Lorde, some were good, some were bad, and I'd like to share with you my 40 least favorite, and my 40 favorite. We're gonna start with the worst because that's always fun.

Also, keep in mind three things. One, this is an opinion-based list, and you are free to disagree with me. Two, I am not a music expert, this is just what I like and what I don't. Three, only one song can represent any given act per list, and it will be one song per post. With that said, let's get started.

[hide][youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MrTz5xjmso4[/youtube]
Sean Kingston - "Beautiful Girls"

Here's the thing. Sean Kingston just isn't a very good singer. He's definitely not the worst voice on this list, trust me, we'll get to those... but he's just got a bit of a whiny voice that doesn't work for me. But what really puts it on this list is sheer, abject laziness. See, this song samples the Ben E. King classic "Stand By Me", and I have nothing against sampling, as long as you do something interesting with it. Kingston doesn't, merely lifting the entire backing track from this song. He barely even tries to match his vocal to the music. It just seems like he didn't want to do actually write any music, so he just pulled a good song out of the archives and used it's music. It's lazy, and I don't tolerate laziness hitting #1.[/hide]

Credit to SKS for the new Waluigi World Order!

My movie rating scale:
  • AMAZINGLY AWESOME!!!
  • Great
  • Good
  • Enjoyable Crap
  • Crap
  • I WILL KILL EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THIS PRODUCTION