It is currently: Mar 28, '24, 8:58 am

Dips in creativity..

Get feedback on creative writing, music or graphics that you created. This is also the place to request a signature or image or to engage in graphic competitions.

Moderator: Daz

Dips in creativity..

Postby AkydefGoldberg » Apr 26, '16, 2:23 pm

I was reading a piece with a cartoonist for a national newspaper who was talking about his career etc and how he initially had given up drawing but his girlfriend encouraged him to continue and he did an hour a day which helped him.

I should write more considering I studied journalism but I always find my writing is poor and I struggle to get going hence why I've not written on my blog in ages and no matter the good intention to put aside time to write, it never happens.

For all who have creative juices as a writer, cartoonist or whatever, thoughts?

AkydefGoldberg Male
Main Eventer
Main Eventer

10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership10 years of membership

Topic Author
Topics: 519

Re: Dips in creativity..

Postby Hanley! » Apr 26, '16, 2:28 pm

I think it's always easier to criticize your own work than anyone else's, and it's easy to talk yourself out of writing for that reason. But most people's writing isn't great at first. It takes work, and revision and editing to craft something great. So rather than focusing on little problems, I find it best to concentrate on working towards a finished product.

I often go through periods of being too tired or lazy to write, but I find the best way to motivate myself to get work done is to develop a routine. There's a coffee shop that I'll sometimes go to on days off and I'll stay there all day to get work done. My brain is familiar enough with this routine that when I'm there I find it easier to concentrate and meet targets.

Hanley! Male
World Champion